Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Chocolate zucchini bread

I woke up the other day seriously wanting some chocolate zucchini bread.  Who wakes up craving chocolate zucchini bread?  This girl 🙂  I think I must have seen a picture of zucchini bread on Instagram or something and my subconscious was stewing on it which evolved into CHOCOLATE zucchini bread.

I really like to make healthier versions of food, so I was determined to make a yummy healthy version.  I actually made a whole batch of a not-so-yummy version that ended up straight in the trash but… this version turned out just as I had imagined! Made me a happy girl!

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Recipe by Ashlee at Making Health Tangible

1 ½ cup whole wheat pastry flour

¼ cup cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

2 tbsp coconut oil

½ cup honey

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 medium finely shredded zucchini

½ cup chocolate chips (optional)

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl

Mix wet ingredients in separate bowl less the zucchini and chocolate chips

Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients until mixed throughout without over mixing.

Then fold in Zucchini, and chocolate chips

Place in greased 9x5in bread pan and bake at 350 for 30-40 min until toothpick comes out clean

Thoughts? They are encouraged :)

